Deadline day winners and losers
It wasn't a big surprise that Deadline Day was an overall dud, what with the economy tanking and all. But there were a few things to know after today.
Winner of the day: Olli Jokinen. Not only does he get to try for the playoffs for the first time, but he gets out of the mess formerly known as the Phoenix Coyotes.
Losers of the day: Anyone who went to "the mess in AZ". (Dawes, Kalinin, Prucha, Lombardi, etc.) And the Vancouver Canucks. How do you not do anything? I know they're on a roll, but even a role player or two would have been something.
Acquisitions with highest possible upside: Jokinen to Flames and Recchi to Boston. Recchi might be that final piece for a still underrated Bruins team.
Most mindboggling trade: Olaf Kolzig, Jamie Heward, a 4th round pick, and Andy Rogers to the Leafs for a prospect. I'm trying to figure this one out...do the Marlies need the help? Is this a salary trade? Did Brian Burke just want to have the Leafs in the news? I don't get this one!
Acquisition(s) we notice least now that might have most impact: Kotalik to Edmonton, Pahlsson to Chicago, McLaren and Carcillo to Philadelphia.
Teams that improved themselves today: Calgary, Toronto, Boston, Chicago, Edmonton
Teams that are worse off after the day: New York Rangers, Buffalo
Teams that mystified me today: Anaheim (are you making the playoffs or not?), San Jose (Will Travis Moen and Kent Huskins make that much of a difference?), Pittsburgh (Bill Guerin is your big pick up?), Ottawa (all you do is trade Vermette for Leclaire?), and Toronto (that last trade still stymies me).
Final verdict: Very little changed as a result of today. Calgary is the only team that substantially changed anything, and it likely won't change their standings in the season. (They're 10 back of Detroit and 8 ahead of Vancouver...not much changing.) But the proof is in the playoffs, I suppose...
Winner of the day: Olli Jokinen. Not only does he get to try for the playoffs for the first time, but he gets out of the mess formerly known as the Phoenix Coyotes.
Losers of the day: Anyone who went to "the mess in AZ". (Dawes, Kalinin, Prucha, Lombardi, etc.) And the Vancouver Canucks. How do you not do anything? I know they're on a roll, but even a role player or two would have been something.
Acquisitions with highest possible upside: Jokinen to Flames and Recchi to Boston. Recchi might be that final piece for a still underrated Bruins team.
Most mindboggling trade: Olaf Kolzig, Jamie Heward, a 4th round pick, and Andy Rogers to the Leafs for a prospect. I'm trying to figure this one out...do the Marlies need the help? Is this a salary trade? Did Brian Burke just want to have the Leafs in the news? I don't get this one!
Acquisition(s) we notice least now that might have most impact: Kotalik to Edmonton, Pahlsson to Chicago, McLaren and Carcillo to Philadelphia.
Teams that improved themselves today: Calgary, Toronto, Boston, Chicago, Edmonton
Teams that are worse off after the day: New York Rangers, Buffalo
Teams that mystified me today: Anaheim (are you making the playoffs or not?), San Jose (Will Travis Moen and Kent Huskins make that much of a difference?), Pittsburgh (Bill Guerin is your big pick up?), Ottawa (all you do is trade Vermette for Leclaire?), and Toronto (that last trade still stymies me).
Final verdict: Very little changed as a result of today. Calgary is the only team that substantially changed anything, and it likely won't change their standings in the season. (They're 10 back of Detroit and 8 ahead of Vancouver...not much changing.) But the proof is in the playoffs, I suppose...

5 Comments:
This comment has been removed by the author.
Winner of the day: they're still known as the Phoenix Coyotes and if it wasn't for the financial woes they actually are improving.
Losers of the day: These are guys that Gretzky probably would like anyway; Lombardi at least. As for the Canucks one could argue that they made their deal when they signed Sundin and perhaps any deal they tried yesterday could have had too high an asking price. A role player could have been a nice addition but sometimes GMs don't want to mess with a team that has gone through the hard times together and worked their way out of it.
Acquisitions with highest possible upside: I agree with both of these but since we have yet to see Jokinen in the playoffs I'm not entirely sold and there's no guarantee he'll work well with Iggy.
Most mindboggling trade: This is mostly a Marlies deal and a salary dump from Tampa but from what I've heard the Leafs wanted Rogers and they had to pay that to get him.
Acquisition(s) we notice least now that might have most impact: We'll see but I like the Kotalik and Pahlsson ones.
Teams that improved themselves today: You missed Ottawa, when healthy Leclaire could be the goalie that they've been looking for.
Teams that are worse off after the day: Don't understand why adding Moore and getting a decent goaltender to back-up Lalime while Miller is hurt makes them worse off... but okay...
Teams that mystified me today: Anaheim is making me confused too. Pittsburgh is still not going to make the playoffs. Ottawa: Leclaire is a good pick-up, Neil may still be re-signed and they re-signed Kuba which is great! Ottawa already made the deal that best helps them like a week ago with adding Comrie and Campoli; they didn't need to do much today and will probably make more moves at the draft.
Final verdict: If Phoenix doesn't fold they've added a lot of good things to their team: Prust, Kalinin and Lombardi are good additions for them in my mind. Antropov may actually end up being a really good deal now that he is out of Toronto.
Calgary may have helped themselves short term but they virtually guaranteed that they won't be able to sign Cammalleri because of today. That was a big mistake, he's been better than Iginla this year.
As for Vancouver being a loser on trade day. I totally disagree. Almost every year vancouver picks up a depth forward and every year they waste a draft pick doing it. A few years ago they traded three picks away. This year they saved all their picks and made two moves (one big and one small) that saved them picks. First was Sundin and the second was picking up depth d-man Ossi Vaananen off waivers from Philly. Also Vancouver also has about 9 depth forwards either playing for them or sitting in Manitoba which allows for three injuries by design.....Consequently, Vancouver is fine.
If you listen to the radio in Calgary no one has deceived themselves into thinking that re-signing Camalleri is a possibility unless he agrees to a discount of some kind. What should have been addressed and what was evident in the loss to Carolina is that McElhinney is not a sufficient back-up to Kiprusoff and the Flames probably should have grabbed a goalie- Tellqvist could have been a decent back-up for them and Calgary should have done what Buffalo did. Now they have to make sure that Kiprusoff stays healthy or they are done. That's a legitimate concern considering that this year it seems that the Flames are making a considerable push for the Cup.
As for Vancouver I totally agree with Aidan and I am not too worried about Vancouver.
I'm not saying that Calgary fans are deceived into saying they think can sign Cammalleri. I'm saying it was stupid of Darryl Sutter to pick up Jokinen knowing that it ruled out the signing of Cammalleri. If you gave me the chose of those two players I think the choice is clear....and it cost him Lombardi, Prust and a 1st rounder to make the wrong choice long term.
I agree that Calgary also needed a backup but not because of the possibility of a Kiprusoff injury because I think there screwed even if Kipper misses a couple games. They need a capable back-up to give Kipper some rest so he isn't having horrible games like have happened recently where he gives us 5, 6 or 8 goals in a game.
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home